You are required to show proof of at least liability insurance if you operate a car or truck in the city. Residents of Sandpoint, ID must provide evidence of a policy that pays at least $25,000 per person ($50,000 per incident) for bodily injury and a minimum of $15,000 for property damage. You also need to show proof of $25,000 per person ($50,000 per incident) for uninsured motorist protection. The agents at The Insurance Shop USA can help you understand auto insurance in Idaho and whether or not you can drive an uninsured vehicle on the highway.
Is Idaho a no-fault state?
Idaho is not a no-fault state. Drivers who cause an accident can be sued by the victims of their neglect. Some auto owners purchase the minimum amount in car insurance and discover that they must pay out-of-pocket when damages exceed policy limits.
It is best to purchase an auto insurance plan that supports your lifestyle preferences in Sandpoint, ID. A policy does not need to be the most expensive to serve as an effective financial cushion. Your insurance plan should, however, be enough to pay for damage to another person’s property and replace your vehicle, if necessary.
Can you drive on the highway in Idaho without auto insurance?
Contrary to some rumors, you cannot operate a vehicle on the highways in Idaho without auto insurance. Drivers must show proof of indemnity coverage when prompted by law enforcement regardless of whether they operate their vehicles in the city or in rural areas.
How much auto insurance do you need?
The amount of auto insurance you need depends on the type of vehicle you have, how often you drive, the distance from work and home, and your overall lifestyle preferences. The agents at The Insurance Shop USA can help you understand the difference between auto insurance types so you can find the plan that best suits your needs. Call today to get started on a quote for coverage.